Realarchitektur is a Berlin based architectural practice owned and run by Petra Petersson.

Several of the projects have been published and exhibited internationally, and have received renowned architectural awards. The diversity of the projects, for example two conversions of bunkers to house art collections, conversions of industrial buildings, extensions and inner city infill projects, as well as a pre-school and housing developments, are all linked by Realarchitektur’s well designed, focused and solution-orientated proposals. The diverse contexts and functional  requirements are handled in a creative design process inspired by reduction and pragmatism, in close cooperation with the authorities, the users and the client.

“For Realarchitektur, inspiration comes easily thanks to the architects‘ inquisitive natures: by examining the underused, the everyday and the familiar, and combining their findings within the project restrictions and spatial situation, they see themselves as transformers of what is already there.”  – (101 of the world’s most exciting new architects, Wallpaper Architects directory)

Prof. Petra Petersson Architektin BDA,

was born in 1966 in Lund, Sweden. After attending school in France, Switzerland, the USA, Germany and Sweden, she studied architecture from 1985 at the Technical University in Lund, Sweden, and at the Mackintosh School of Architecture, Glasgow School of Art, in Scotland. She received her Diploma of Architecture in 1991.
She has over 25 years of post-graduate architectural working experience. Before founding Realarchitektur in 2003, she worked in architects’ offices in Glasgow, Auckland, Stockholm and Berlin.
Prof. Petersson is a registered member of the Berlin Chamber of Architects and an elected member of the BDA. She is regularly invited to be on Architectural juries and publishes, exhibits and lectures about her work internationally.
Since 2013 Petra Petersson has been a Professor of Architecture at the Technical University in Graz, Austria, where she is the head of the Institute for Construction and Design Principles (


Kerstin Zahn, Henning Watkinson, Gordon Black, Beatriz Perez, Alejandro Prieto Mota, Christopher Leitner, Fíona Canavan, Julia Hegenwald, Mak Pavelic, Daniel Niens, Anne Neumann, Tabea Däuwel, Felix Arlt, Emi Bryan, Philipp Bünger, Julia Molles, Bärbel Ackerman, Hans-Peter Bauer, José Calvet, Julia Otte, Andrew E. Strickland (founding partner 2003–05), Jens casper (founding partner 2003–2007), Wolfgang List alias CosmicW, Bernadette Krejs, Karin Maria Derix, Dorina Siewert, Sören Hanft.


AGP Architekten Wolfgang Meier (,
Jan Fidjeland arkitektkontor (,
Wilk-Salinas Architekten (,
ifau: Institut für angewandte Urbanistik (,
Annabau: Sofia Petersson (
Photographers: Felix Odell  (,
Martin Widerberg, Beatrice Pöschke,
Studio Hanns Joosten (,
Noshe (,
Arun Kuplas Photography (